To Echoworld Homepage

To Echo Germanica Homepage
February 2007 - Nr. 2


The Editor
Herz und Rose
KW & Beyond
Albert Kergl
Herwig Wandschneider
Dick reports...
Sybille reports
Ham Se det jehört?
Growing Organic Needed
New German Films
Goethe Institut President Limbach
Peter Hessel's New Book
A Schubert Valentine
Canadian Opera Company
The Erik Bruhn Prize
Orchestra Toronto Event
Yo! Germany Raps
Grade 5 SnowPass
Crime of the Century
The Falun Dafa Association
Arctic Voyage
Ontario Good Citizen Award
Boost to Arts Education
Heart-Healthy Meals
Clean Wood Burning
Wood for Energy
Centre of European Union
'Industrial Revolution'
Food to Karamoja



The Erik Bruhn Prize - March 3

Keiichi Hirano and Bridgett Zehr
Represent The National Ballet of Canada

Veronica Tennant and Rex Harrington Host

January 16, 2007...Toronto...Ontario...Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada, today announced that First Soloist Keiichi Hirano and Second Soloist Bridgett Zehr will represent the company at The Seventh International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize on Saturday, March 3, 2007 at 7:30 pm in the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts. Former Principal Dancers Veronica Tennant and Rex Harrington will host the event.

Competitors from The Royal Danish Ballet, The Royal Ballet and American Ballet Theatre will be announced shortly. Judging the competition are Artistic Directors Karen Kain, Kevin McKenzie (American Ballet Theatre), Frank Andersen (Royal Danish Ballet) and Assistant Director Jeanetta Laurence (The Royal Ballet).

During the evening The National Ballet of Canada will perform Voluntaries as a tribute to Glen Tetley, Artistic Associate of the company from 1987 to 1989 and to mark his 80th birthday. Mr. Tetley created Oracle (1994), Tagore (1989), La Ronde (1987) and Alice (1986) on the National Ballet and the company has Rite of Spring, Daphnis and Chloë, Sphinx as well as Voluntaries in the repertoire. Glen Tetley will be in attendance at the performance.

Erik Bruhn, one of the greatest male classical dancers of the 20th century, was Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada from 1983 until his death in 1986. In a codicil to his will, Mr. Bruhn left part of his estate for the establishment of The Erik Bruhn Prize, involving the companies with whom he was most closely associated. The Royal Danish Ballet, The Royal Ballet, American Ballet Theatre and The National Ballet of Canada are each invited to send one male and one female dancer to the competition. He specified that the prize be awarded to two young dancers who "reflect such technical ability, artistic achievement and dedication as I endeavoured to bring to dance."

The dancers, all between the ages of 18 and 26, are selected by the Artistic Directors of their companies. Competitors appear in a classical pas de deux and variations and a contemporary pas de deux or solo repertoire. Each participant receives a medal and the winners each receive a prize of $7,500 and a sculpture by Canadian Artist Jack Culiner.

Nearly all of the past winners have gone on to hold Principal Dancer positions with their companies and to enjoy international careers.

Full list of past winners of The Erik Bruhn Prize <
Biographical information for Keiichi Hirano<
Biographical information for Bridgett Zehr<

The National Ballet of Canada’s 2006/2007 season is dedicated to National Ballet founder Celia Franca, who was Artistic Director of the company for 24 years.

Tickets for The Seventh International Competition for The Erik Bruhn Prize range from $40 - $190 and can be purchased in person at the Four Seasons Centre Box Office (145 Queen St. W) or call 416 (toll free 1-866) 345-9595. Tickets can also be purchased on line at

Discount rates are available for groups of 10 people or more.

Rush seats are available on the day of performance in person at the box office for $30. Call to confirm availability.

The inaugural season is presented by CTV Bell Globe Media.

The Erik Bruhn Prize is presented by John and Claudine Bailey.

The National Ballet of Canada gratefully acknowledges the ongoing support of the Canada Council for the Arts; the Ontario Arts Council; the City of Toronto through the Economic Development, Culture and Tourism Department; The Government of Canada through the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister, the Department of Canadian Heritage, the Government of Ontario through the Honourable Caroline Di Cocco, Minister of Culture.


To Top of Page

Send mail to  with questions or comments about this web site.
For information about Echoworld Communications and its services send mail to .

Copyright ©2007 Echoworld Communications